聖經

第一本書

在得克薩斯大學玻璃陳列柜里存放着一部非常特別的書籍。這部書是Gutenberg’s出版社四百多年前出版的。大學花了240萬美圓才賣到它。

為什麼這部書如此特別?如果你登入大學網站,你將會讀到關於這部書的設計以及它是被如何印刷成書的資料。

但是,書裡到底講了什麽,更是讓人好奇。這部寶書就是《聖經》。Gutenberg出版社選擇首先出版《聖經》就是因為它當時是世界上最重要的著作。

時至今日,《聖經》仍是世界上最重要的著作。感謝印刷術的發明才可能使來自全世界不同國度的人讀到用他們母語出版的《聖經》。《聖經》而且仍是全世界最暢銷的書籍。而且沒有人知道多少部《聖經》被贈送給買不起《聖經》的人。

《聖經》絕不是因為它售價高,印刷中所應用的技術或是它广受歡迎而顯得如此特別。而是因為它是上帝話語的記載,所以它是世界上最重要的書籍。世界上有很多珍貴的書籍,但只有《聖經》是被稱為是直接來源于上帝。

全部經文是受上帝靈感而寫的,對於教導真理,指責謬誤,糾正過錯,指示人生正路,都有益處。­­­­­–《提摩泰後書》3:16

聖經“經文”是指所有在《聖經》中的記述。《聖經》就像一座便攜式圖書館。

  • 《聖經》共有66本經書。
  • 它被分成兩部分。第一部分《舊約》含有39本經書。第二部分《新約》含有27本經書。
  • 整部《聖經》受上帝靈感而寫, 歷時超過1600多年才完成。
  • 上帝通過40位作者記述下他給世人的話語。這些作者來自不同時代,來自不同社會背景。他們有的是傳道士,農民,有的是國王,漁夫,還有的是收稅人等等。

一個訊息

當上帝願意与我們分享他的思想時,我們不應該對此感到驚訝。上帝是宇宙萬物的創造者。他創造了我們,也關愛我們。身為爲上帝工作的40位作者中的一位,國王大衛寫了一首詩歌頌揚上帝:

我頌讚你,因為你可敬可畏;你的作為奇妙非凡。我心裏深深領會。–《詩篇》139:14

大衛看到了大多數人都能看到的事實。我們不是自然界的偶然。所有的生物,包括人,都有證據顯示自然界的一切是爲特定目的而被精心創造。

這個事實能在上帝創造人的藍圖中得到印證。讓我們再次聆聽大衛美麗的詩句:

啊,人算甚麼,你竟顧念他!必朽的人算甚麼,你竟關懷他!–《詩篇》8:4

大衛很驚奇上帝對人有如此大的興趣。我們只是生活在一顆圍繞中等恆星旋轉的藍色小星球上的一個渺小生物。在晴朗的夜晚,大衛可以抬頭看到成千上萬顆恆星。但是,人在上帝的眼中是如此特別,如此重要。重要到,上帝賜給我們《聖經》。

讓我們再次回過頭去讀《提摩泰後書》3:16:“全部經文是受上帝靈感而寫的,對於教導真理,指責謬誤,糾正過錯,指示人生正路,都有益處“。

  • 上帝給予我們他的話語,這樣讓我們可以更多地了解他 ——這就是教導真理。
  • 上帝給予我們他的話語,這樣讓我們能知道我們在哪個地方犯錯誤了——這就是指責謬誤。
  • 上帝給予我們他的話語,這樣讓我們能改正我們所犯的錯誤 ——這就是糾正過錯。
  • 上帝給予我們他的話語,這樣讓我們能學做一個更好的人 ——這就是指示人生正路。

我們能相信《聖經》嗎?

毫無疑問,《聖經》直接來自於上帝。但真是這樣嗎?如果一個人對你說“你要相信我”,你肯定會想知道憑什麼我應該相信他。如果他只是嘴上說說,沒有真憑實據,你當然不會相信他。但是《聖經》裡有充足的證據使我們相信,它確實是上帝的話語。

第一,《聖經》里不會出現普通書籍的錯誤。當人寫書的時候,作者很難使事件連貫一致,事實正確。《聖經》卻避免了這些錯誤。如果《聖經》僅僅是由40個不同時代,不同社會背景的作者,歷時1600多年寫成的一本人類巨著,而這些作者想要做到在全部經文中事件連貫一致,事實正確,根本就不可能。但是對上帝來講,這不是問題。

第二,《聖經》包含各種各樣的特定訊息,而這些訊息是憑作者本人的智慧和能力永遠也不可能理解知道的。很多特定訊息是對未來歷史事件的預示。它們被稱為“預言”。

 因為,從來沒有預言是出於人的意思,而是先知受聖靈的感動把上帝的信息傳達出來的。– 《彼得後書》1:21

很多預言揭示了上帝給人類製定的藍圖。上帝說,他會派他的兒子到以色列人中間去。他的兒子會出生於一個是國王大衛後代的家庭里。他會在伯利恆出生。他會教導世人信奉在天堂的聖父—上帝。他會為了世人所犯的罪惡被釘死在羅馬人搭建的十字架上。他會建立起他的教堂,邀請每一個人成為教堂的一分子。上帝在很多很多世紀以前就揭示了這個藍圖,而且所有的預言在耶穌身上變成了現實。沒有人能猜到這些事件會發生在耶穌一個人的身上。這就使包含這些預言的《聖經》非常特別,也使得耶穌非常特別。

第三,很多世紀以來,上帝一直關注《聖經》的編寫。他向先知以賽亞承諾:

草會枯萎,花會凋謝,但是我們上帝的話永不改變!—《以賽亞書》40:8

愛上帝的人總是願意和其他人分享上帝的話語。他們記錄下上帝的話語,並且製做出盡可能最好的典籍。但是他們不是獨立完成這項工程的。而是上帝一直在幕后工作,確保他的話語能永遠屹立不倒,經得住考驗。今天我們讀到的《聖經》是根據大量早期記錄上帝話語的典籍編寫而成的。除了《聖經》,世界上還沒有另外一本書籍用這樣的方式編寫完成。

Qumran caves

在死海附近岩洞里發現的早期《聖經》經文記錄協助確認了《聖經》的準確性。

我們從哪裡開始?

《聖經》中第一部書里的第一句話是就一個好的開始:

太初,上帝創造天地。–《創世紀》1:1

上帝向摩西揭示了這個訊息,這樣摩西可以与上帝的人民:以色列人分享這個訊息。以色列人需要知道他們是誰,從哪裡來。更重要的是,他們需要知道他們將往哪裡走。

從《創世紀》我們了解到,亞當和夏娃違背了上帝的訓令。他們的選擇帶給他們自己和後人可怕的後果。上帝有藍圖糾正這個後果。他通過預言揭示了這個藍圖。

上帝說,他將派救世主拯救世人。在天堂的聖父會稱救世主聖子(《馬太福音》 3:17)。在人間,救世主的家人叫他耶穌(《馬太福音》 1:20-21)。救世主的信徒知道他是基督(《馬太福音》 16:16)。“基督”意思是“上帝派來的救世主”。耶穌就是《聖經舊約》所有預言里預示人們等待的救世主。

耶穌來到人間建立起他的教堂。任何想追隨他的人都能成為教堂的一分子。如果你想多讀到這方面的話題,請聯繫下面地址或登入網站免費索取《介紹(2)—教堂》。

The Bible

Book One

Sitting under a glass case at the University of Texas is a very special book. It was one of the very first books to come off Gutenberg’s printing press over four hundred years ago. The university paid $2.4 million dollars for this rarest of treasures.

Why is this particular book so special? If you go to the university’s website, you will read all sorts of information about the design of the book and the invention of the printing press that made it possible.

What the book says, though, is even more intriguing. The treasure under that glass is a copy of the Bible. Gutenberg chose to print the Bible first because it was the most important book in the world.

And it still is. Thanks to the invention of the printing press, millions of people all over the world can read the Bible in their own language. It remains the best-selling book in the world today. No one knows how many are given away to people who cannot afford to buy the Bible for themselves.

Even so, this is not about price, or technology, or popularity. The Bible is the most important book in the world because it is the word of God. Lots of books are precious, but the Bible goes one step further by claiming to be from God Himself.

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness – 2 Timothy 3:16

BibleThe word “Scripture” refers to all the writings of the Bible. The Bible is like a portable library.

  • It has a total of 66 books.
  • It is divided into two main sections. The Old Testament has 39 books, and the New Testament has 27 books.
  • God inspired or “breathed out” His words over a period of 1,600 years.
  • He gave these words to 40 writers from all walks of life: preachers, farmers, kings, fishermen, tax collectors, and many more.

A Message from Above

We shouldn’t be surprised that God would want to share His thoughts with us. God is the creator of the entire universe. He is the one who made us, and He cares about us. One of God’s writers, King David, wrote a poem on this very subject:

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. – Psalm 139:14

David saw what most of us still see. We are not an accident of nature. All living things, including human beings, show evidence of purpose and design.

This same attention to detail can be found in God’s plan for man. Listen again to the beautiful words of David:

What is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? – Psalm 8:4

David was amazed by God’s interest in us. We are tiny creatures living on a small blue planet circling a medium-sized star. On a clear night, David could see a thousand stars. And yet we are special; we matter a lot. In fact, we matter so much that God gave us the Bible.

Notice again what that passage from 2 Timothy 3:16 says: Scripture is “profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.”

  • God has given us His word so that we can learn more about Him – that’s teaching.
  • He has given us His word so that we can know where we have gone wrong – that’s reproof.
  • He has given us His word so that we can fix the mistakes we are making – that’s correction.
  • He has given us His word so that we can learn to be better people – that’s training in righteousness.

Can We Trust It?

There is no doubt that the Bible claims to be from God. But is it? After all, if someone says, “Trust me,” you would want to know why you should trust him. Just saying it doesn’t make it so. When it comes to the Bible, we have plenty of evidence to believe that it really is the word of God.

First, the Bible does not make the kind of mistakes we would expect to find in ordinary human books. In our own writing, we struggle to keep our story straight and our facts right. The Bible avoids these mistakes. This would be impossible for an ordinary book written by 40 different people over a space of 1,600 years. But it is not impossible for God.

Second, the Bible contains all sorts of special information that ordinary human writers could never know by themselves. A lot of this information includes predictions about future historical events. These predictions are known as prophecies.

For no prophecy was ever produced by the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit. – 2 Peter 1:21

Many prophecies reveal God’s plan for mankind. He said He would send His Son to live among the people of Israel. His Son would be born into a family with roots going all the way back to King David. He would be born in the town of Bethlehem. He would teach us about His Father in heaven. He would die on a Roman cross for our sins. He would establish His church, and invite everyone to become a part of that church. God revealed this information over many centuries, and it all came true in Jesus. No one could guess that all these events would take place in the life of just one man. This makes the book containing all those predictions very special, and it makes Jesus very special.

And third, God has been watching the progress of His Bible through the ages. He made this promise to the prophet Isaiah:

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever. – Isaiah 40:8

People who love God have always wanted to share His word with other people. They have copied God’s word, and they have made the best copies possible. But they were not working alone. God has always been behind the scenes making sure that His word stands forever. Our Bibles today rely on a marvellous record of copies that go into deep, distant history. There is nothing like the Bible.

Qumran caves

Ancient copies of the Scriptures found in caves near the Dead Sea help to confirm the accuracy of the Bible.

Where Do We Begin?

The very first verse of the very first book of the Bible is a great place to start:

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. – Genesis 1:1

God revealed this message to Moses so that he could share them with God’s people, the Israelites. They needed to know who they were. They needed to know where they were from. And most of all, they needed to know where they were going.

From Genesis we learn that Adam and Eve disobeyed God. Their choices had a terrible effect on their own lives, and the lives of everyone who came after them. God had a plan to fix this problem. That plan was revealed through prophecy.

God said He would send a Saviour. The Saviour’s Father in heaven would call Him Son (Matthew 3:17). His family on earth would call Him Jesus (Matthew 1:20-21). His followers knew Him as the Christ (Matthew 16:16). “Christ” means Chosen One. He was the One expected from all those prophecies back in the Old Testament.

Jesus came to establish His church. Anyone who wants to follow Jesus can be a part of His church. If you want to read more on this subject, please see Introductions 2: The Church.

Copyright © 2012 Trevor Major. All rights reserved.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email